Executive Board

SJTA’s Executive Board implements the policies of the Representative Council and serves as the business agent of the Association. The Executive Board’s officers and directors all of whom are members of the Association, meet monthly to coordinate SJTA’s activities; recommend an annual budget; approve all appointments to committees, task forces, and working groups, including chairpersons; direct grievance activities; exercise all business and organizational powers and duties; and provide for the dissemination of information regarding bargaining. They are here to serve the needs of the profession and the membership. For contact information, please email: info@sanjoseta.org.

The 2019-2020 SJTA Officers and Directors are:

  • President: Patrick Bernhardt
  • Vice President: Renata Sanchez, Allen at Steinbeck Elem
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Johanna Latz, Schallenberger Elem
  • Elementary Director (North): Erin McGauley-Hebard, Bachrodt Elem
  • Elementary Director (South): Allison Medlin, Graystone Elem
  • Middle School Director: Alana Abatecola, Willow Glen MS
  • High School Director: Yolanda Guerra, San Jose HS
  • Minority Affairs Director:¬†Julian Ramirez, Horace Mann
  • Outreach Director: Wendy Savinar, Secondary C&I
  • CTA State Council: Karen Sauer, Olinder Elem
  • CTA State Council: Melissa Urbain, John Muir MS
  • Bargaining Chair: Paul Nyhof, John Muir MS (non-voting, ex officio)